28 Weeks and WHOSE BODY IS THIS?!

I miss the Second Trimester. I really do. I knew when I was in it that it was a magical time that I may never return to… one of energy, enthusiasm, comfort, and sociability. That ship has sailed, folks.

I’m in Week 28 and it’s… different. Every part of my pregnancy feels like it’s changing at a rapid pace, and I’m struggling to keep up. First of all, my body is so definitely not my own anymore. Not only do I have this large basketball belly, but my larger chest and thighs are totally new to me. I no longer have, as The Laotian Commotion would say, “thigh gap.” My boobs are heavy and itchy and large for the first time in my life, and I know they are only going to keep growing (Woo! and Nooooo).

My new larger size means that my regular clothes, which I wear baggy anyway, are no longer cutting it. My large t-shirts barely cover my bump, and I’m down to one super old, washing-machine-stretched-it-out-and-I-THANK-GOD-for-some-reason-kept-it-in-the-back-of-my-dresser bra. When home, which is 99% of the time, I wear PJs or boxer shorts and tee, but with my larger thighs, butt, and hips, my uniform is in dire need of a change. I think it’s going to be nightgowns and mumus from here on out.

I saw on Twitter the other day that Gap was having a huge sale on maternity jeans. A dear friend, doula, and new mama gave me some awesome advice about maternity jeans recently when I asked for her opinions on brands and whatnot. Her body type is very similar to mine- we’re both tall, pretty thin, and have long legs. She told me that Target’s brand ran short, and that she loved her Gap 1969 Long & Leans. Unfortunately, those jeans normally run $70 per pair- so when I found out about Gap’s sale, I was all over it. Steve and I went to the mall on Saturday and really lucked out- I wound up getting a 1969 Long and Lean pair for $48 AND a 1969 Sexy Boot pair for $19.99- both full panel.

Full panel, folded/unfolded

Full panel, folded/unfolded

My new mama friend shared some maternity jean wisdom with me that was told to her by our mutual midwife: when it comes to panels on maternity pants, make sure the panel is not too tight. Any sort of restriction near the base of the uterus may encourage the baby to turn breech. When trying on the jeans (something I loathe but am so glad I did), I found that while technically comfortable, the demi panel was a smidgen too tight for my liking. When I tried the full panel, it was instant love- you can adjust the panel through folding, giving your belly as much or as little support as you need in the moment. I’m a mama who needs options.

In other news, my center of gravity has obviously changed, because I find myself losing my balance at the oddest times. I’ll be cooking dinner and will literally just reach over the counter to get onion powder and almost fall over. Shaving my legs in the shower is now not only a challenge, but also a treacherous endeavor as it requires balancing on one leg.

Also? The urinating. I didn’t have the First Trimester hormonal pee urges that so many expectant women have, but now that my uterus is huge and Babby uses my bladder as a speed bag, I’m pretty much always on my way in or out of the bathroom. I go right before I lay down to sleep, about 20 minutes after I get into bed, at least once more in the middle of the night, and at around 7 each morning, for starters. There’s nothing I can do about the constant need to pee, because I drink an insane amount of water each day. We recently purchased a Brita UltraMax Dispenser– Target had a HUGE sale, we got it for I believe $18- and it’s been a lifesaver. No more plastic bottles to buy and haul around, no more additional recyclables and waste. And the water actually tastes really great, if it’s possible for water to have a taste.

I don't look like any of these woman when I drink water. It's usually me sweating, standing in front of an open refirgerator with my belly out, guzzling frantically.

I don’t look like any of these women when I drink water. It’s usually me sweating, standing in front of an open refrigerator with my belly out, guzzling frantically.

My appetite has gone way down in the past couple of weeks. Though I’m still very hungry most of the time, my stomach is no longer a bottomless pit. I’m guessing this has to do with my stomach (and the rest of my guts) now being so squished. There’s just not enough room in there for endless buffets anymore! Cravings include chocolate, more chocolate, and coldcuts.

I've been watching The Sopranos every day, and now all I want is a fridge full of buffalo mozzarella and capicolla.

I’ve been watching The Sopranos every day, and now all I want is a fridge full of buffalo mozzarella and capicolla.

Third Trimester exhaustion is a reality for me at this point. I can’t seem to get enough sleep at night, what with the frequent urination, leg spasms and cramps, switching sleeping positions constantly, and 2-3 nightmares a night. Even on the rare occasion where I get restful sleep, I still seem to need a nap during the day, and by 5pm am pretty much dead to the world. I’m so glad we’re getting much-needed house “stuff” done now, like painting and light construction, before I’m completely incapable of staying awake longer than a few minutes at a time.

The exhaustion is probably contributing to a bit of revved up introversion lately. I’m feeling more private and more in need of solitude. I just feel… quiet. There’s no where I’d rather be than on the couch relaxing with my husband as he puts his ear to my belly as the baby kicks him right in the face.

Despite the new physical discomforts, I’m feeling more emotionally stable and ready than ever before during this pregnancy. I haven’t had any hormonal meltdowns or freakouts, and I’m really just totally in love with this baby. Her birth, which once seemed so far away and foreign, is now in sight and I find myself daydreaming about labor, birth, and the postpartum. We have our prenatal visits scheduled with our doula, and midwife prenatal appointments will soon be every two weeks! It’s all happening so fast, but I feel ready.*

*remind me after the baby is born that I had the audacity to say this, okay?

5 Comments

Filed under Pregnancy

5 responses to “28 Weeks and WHOSE BODY IS THIS?!

  1. Gap maternity jeans are the best! good find!

    • They are awesome. I was really not in a position to be spending tons of money on jeans that I will only wear for a few months so am SO glad I got them on super sale. And frankly, they are so comfortable that I’m not entirely sure I will ever go back to regular jeans. Buttons? Zippers? Who needs ’em!

  2. Mel

    I’m with you (29 weeks), except I keep getting the urge to cry, for NO apparent reason. I’m not a cryer either, so it’s totally odd to me, but gotta be the hormones.

    • My general anxiety has kicked in a bit… I’m pretty sure the endless crying stage is approaching- I burnt one of my husband’s shirts with the iron a few weeks ago and cried for like 10 minutes. It’s all good. And WOOHOO for you, mama! 29 weeks… it goes by fast, doesn’t it?

  3. I found that I like the full panel the best because you can wear them up or pulled down. The only bad thing about them pulled up is how hot it is in the summer heat. Who am I kidding though, I have barely worn jeans in the past month or two because of the heat—it’s all shorts and skirts:)

Leave a Reply

